John Gilligan died this past week.  He is a former governor of Ohio, though before my time here.  He is famous for initiating corporate and personal income taxes in Ohio, in 1971.  I have heard him described as a liberal Democrat.

The Wikipedia article on him does not mention the taxes.  It also omits this great line, from the WaPo article.

When a reporter asked if the arriving Gilligan was going to shear a sheep on the fairgrounds, the governor said: “I shear taxpayers, not sheep.”

The Wikipedia article does mention his daughter, Kathleen Sebelius.  I am sorry for her loss.  But I would be remiss if I did not note that the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.  She is currently in charge of Health and Human Services, and is pushing strongly for Obamacare.  She wants to allow illegal immigrants to sign up for Obamacare, and is making fundraising calls to healthcare companies in support of it.

I think the shearing of the taxpayers is continuing.

