Frustrating day at work Friday, and my lunch break came late – just about noon, when the restaurants are all full. So I took a walk.

I walked across the suspension bridge, over into Kentucky, then tried to head up-river to the next bridge. I walked along the river in Covington – a nice walk, and I could hear the river. Saw some sitting ducks and geese. But no bridge – there’s a river flowing from Kentucky into the Ohio river, and the bridge is up-stream on the river. The road went up-river (east) then curved south, then curved west. I was headed back to the same place I came from!

Giving in to the forces of road planning and bridge building, I walked back across the suspension bridge, but on the other side of the road. This is the side that has the cat-walks and stairs to get to the top of the towers. They have the bases of the stairs barred off and protected with metal spikes. It still looked appealing to get up to the top of the bridge towers.

Back on the Ohio side, I walked down by the river. It’s technically a riverbank, since that’s where the land meets the water, but it’s all man-made. Concrete sidewalks, paving stones past that, fading yellow parking lines painted and abandoned. Lots of driftwood, and one solitary dead fish.

I pass the ballpark and cut up to Third street. My office is on Fourth, but I need to pick up some food before I head to the office. I’m a block east of my building – but the highways that cross there mean I have to walk a block west, then up to Fourth, then east to a restaurant. Not the smoothest or most direct way.

Two neat things I saw, and didn’t take a picture of. On the Kentucky side of the river, there’s a road that parallels the riverbank. Very narrow, and it dead ends close to the suspension bridge. There are a few houses along there, but it’s definitely not a high traffic volume area. The street is only one lane wide, and it comes to a fairly sudden stop. No signs announcing that this is the end of the road, just curb and sidewalk on three sides, making a U. And at the base of the U, right in front of the car when it runs out of road, is a big pot of bright red geraniums. Just like they decided on a natural stop sign instead of a metal one.

The other interesting thing was a bit farther down that road. There are benches along the road, facing the river. One of them has a piece of art, a bronze man sitting on the bench, reading a book. As I walk towards him, a man approaches from the other direction, sits down next to the sculpture, and pulls out a Palm Pilot. I wanted to take a picture of the two of them – metal man with a book, man of flesh with a PDA – and call it “Generations”.

I kept walking.

