I first learned of the baobab tree in high school, reading The Little Prince in French,  The tree fascinated me – it was built all out of proportion.

450px-adansonia_grandidieri04

(from Bernard Gagnon)

I saw a photo of a baobab in a travel book on Thanksgiving day, and it reminded me of my interest in them.

baobab

(from Daniel Montesinos)

The interesting thing is that I can imagine an evolutionist explaining all the functions of the tree (large trunk to hold water, small leaves to minimize evaporation, etc.), but I cannot imagine any of them looking at the environment and deducing the tree without seeing it.

God designed the tree – it works, and it’s fun.  Unimaginable, yet there it is.

1 Corinthians 2:9 says

“No eye has seen,
no ear has heard,
no mind has conceived
what God has prepared for those who love him”

The way I’m reading it, baobabs aren’t even the beginning!

 

(more baobab pictures here)

