I went to a church school, with mandatory chapel services on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I attended multiple classes on the Bible, even though my focus was on computers.  How come I didn’t get this good stuff there?  I know I wasn’t ready for some of it, spiritually.

On the radio this morning, I heard a preacher drawing a correlation between Jesus’ resurrection on the third day, and baptism, and the formation of dry ground on the third day of creation.  Genesis 1:9,13

And God said, “Let the water under the sky be gathered to one place, and let dry ground appear.” And it was so.

And there was evening, and there was morning—the third day.

The radio preacher talked about the land coming up from its watery grave.

Then our minister talked this morning about the need for knowing God more than knowing about God – a truth that does not deny the need for knowing about God.

Finally, a quote from G. K Chesterton, from memory:

God does not love humanity.  God loves men.

That includes women and children.  The point Chesterton was making is that God loves us each individually – regardless of how many of us there are, or our affiliations, or our current circumstances, or our past, or our future.  He loves George Bush as much as he loves Barack Obama.

Which reminded me – I just signed up to be part of the 77 days of prayer for the incoming administration.  Meant to do it a while ago.

