Tonight Bettie and I went to see the University of Cincinnati’s College Conservatory of Music’s classical guitar ensemble.  They were playing at Christ Presbyterian Church just up the road from us.  No, we’re not switching to this church, either.

There were ten kids, all undergrads studying classical guitar in town.  The program went an hour and a half, and featured compositions ranging from Bach and Scarlatti up to folks born in the 40s and 50s.  Sometimes the whole group played, sometimes a quartet, or a duo, and once a solo (from memory – Jordan Dodson, you were great!).

The piece I liked best was Imagens do Nordeste, from Brazilian Celso Machado.  There’s a short video of someone playing less than a minute of it (and poorly) here.  Still much better than I could play it – I work behind the sound board or camera, not in front of it.

I don’t have any money, and can’t seem to locate him doing the piece, but if I did and if I could, I would get it.  It’s that good.

