Lent!

I’m not Roman Catholic.  I’m not into church holidays (“He was the patron saint of slightly undercooked hamburgers?  Really??”).  I celebrated Mardi Gras by staying away from my company’s party, and celebrated  Ash Wednesday by getting a really good review from my boss.

But we are in Lent, the 40 days leading up to Easter, and  it’s never wrong to think about self-sacrifice.

So what am I giving up for Lent?  Sleepiness.

The idea isn’t original.  It was inspired by Ravi Zaccharias’ Slice of Infinity from Tuesday.   What I’m going to do is to get eight hours of sleep a night.  Not tonight, because I’m already under that.  And not last night, either.  But it’s a goal.

And anything that teaches me to be less selfish (“I need computer time!”  “Really??”) at the same time as it improves my disposition and my ability to hold a coherent conversation is a good thing.

