I have liked some of Cyndi Lauper‘s songs for a while, especially Time after Time.  I remember listening to that song back in the 80s, on a Walkman-type device where you could insert a cassette-shaped radio adapter to hear more than tapes.

A side project from the Supertones was Grand Incredible, with Mojo and Ethan Luck doing all the playing and singing.  On their one album, they include a cover version of Time after Time.  I like this version – it’s still a fun song, and you can really dance to it.  Sorry – I mean they interpret it well, giving it a sparse sound that still retains the essence of the song.

Listening to it this morning, though, it gained new meaning.  Maybe it was hearing it performed by a Christian group, but I saw this as a back-and-forth dialog with God.  We humans start.

Lying in my bed I hear the clock tick,
And think of you
Caught up in circles confusion
Is nothing new

. . .

Sometimes you picture me
I’m walking too far ahead
You’re calling to me, I can’t hear
What you said
Then you say go slow
I fall behind
The second hand unwinds

And God answers

If you’re lost you can look and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you I’ll be waiting
Time after time

This text isn’t pulled from the Bible, but the concepts are.  People lost, God constant and available.  He is always faithful.  Isn’t He great?

