Really, I’m not.

I have been working about double-time this month.  In the first 7 days of April, I worked 82 hours.  That’s during five work days and two weekend days, a nominal 40 hours of work.  It’s coming in at about 14 hours a “workday”, a little less on weekends.

No overtime pay, of course.  I’m exempt.

And I’m dealing with it very well.  It’s not just the “I need a job so I’ll suffer through it” syndrome – no severe stress reactions.  I get frustrated at times, and I’m getting very tired.  I am not going to hit my weight mark for this week, a byproduct of relatively minor munching.

Why the change?  Why not get super-frustrated and wake up with stomach aches?  Why not get bitter and spiteful?

God, and choices.

Our minister challenged us to spend 15 minutes a day alone with God – no couples, no families.  It’s in addition to those times.  But just you and God, without interruptions.  It has helped draw me closer to Him.  And (maybe because of that) I have chosen not to put myself first.  No “entitlements”, no “I got my rights”, whether spoken, acted, or the running thoughts in my head.

Not to say that I don’t want some benefits – I’d like a lunch out every once in a while, or some spending money, or some overtime pay.  Well, a whole lot of overtime pay.

But I’m coming to the realization that it’s not all about me.  This applies at all sorts of different levels, and I’m learning more all the time.

I like learning more.  Sorta like going to school, except that the course is life.  Or eternity.  I signed up for both.

