At work, my group uses a wiki. It’s a great help for saving institutional knowledge, and it has been properly called another team member.

But sometimes I have things I want to save that are more personal, but a text document just isn’t the way to go.  A regular wiki needs a database and a server running HTTP, and that’s just too much.  I want something wiki-like, but simple.

Enter TiddlyWiki.

It’s a whole wiki contained in a single file.  It rewrites itself whenever you make an update.  Add some phone numbers to your own Contacts page?  It gets updated into the same file.  Add a theme or a picture?  Gets stored into the file.  Add a page for a party you’re planning in a month?  Same single file.

I’m trying it out now, playing with it, seeing how to use it best.  But I like it already.  I can personalize it completely, so it matches the way I think.

“The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.” George Bernard Shaw

