Retrofitting scripture to a song can be dangerous.  But it can work.

Last night I was rototilling the garden while listening to Dumpster’s See Through Me, and I was enjoying the absurdity of their Set in Gold

Could’ve been a farmer underneath the golden arches
My crops could be the fries that people dropped.
Sell them back to Ronald at a healthy profit margin
Bring down the clown
The kids would all cheer.

Chorus:
My feet are set in gold
Though I’m poor, tired and old.
I’m just refuse, debris
Of this heartless machine
And now I’m dumping that which has on me.

Could’ve been a vagrant underneath the golden arches
The neon keeps me warm at night.
With mustard for a McFacial and pickles for a pillow
Makes being poor and alone not seem that bad.

(chorus)

You know through everything
Through everything
Through everything, Christ is King
Through everything

I could have been head of a union that covered bullets to boot-scootin’
I’d set the masses free from all that jazz

My feet are set in gold
Though I’m poor, tired and old.
I’m just refuse, debris
Of this heartless machine
And I’m a part of that which won’t part with me.

You know through everything
Through everything
Through everything, Christ is King
Through everything

Through everything, Christ is King
Through everything

Copyright © Darnill, Langella, and Nelson of Dumpster 1998

They never lose track of what’s important, regardless of what is going on externally.  Reminds me of Paul writing in 1 Cor 3:19 and 2 Cor 11:17:

For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”

What I am saying, I am not saying as the Lord would, but as in foolishness

I can imagine somebody foolishly considering setting up a business based on Mickey D’s scraps – but even so, Christ is king.  Something is going on upstairs, and in the right direction.

