First thing we do is to kill all the —

No, not really.  Two weeks ago, I was in a little fender bender.  A policeman showed up, and I asked him to file a report.  I wanted to be covered and do things correctly and properly.  I didn’t realize that there were some low-life bottom-trawlers who would (legally) solicit my business.  I have gotten four letters warning me not to talk to an insurance company before I talk to them.  No wonder the other guy’s insurance company wanted to settle so fast!

But in addition to seeing a little bit of how the other side of the legal system works, I found out that I could get a job as an editor.  I’m not going to justify this firm’s name by publishing it, but this is the bold type from the letter:

STATISTICS SHOW THAT INJURED PERSONS THAT RETAIN GOOD ATTORNEYS RECEIVE FAR MORE MONEY AND BENEFITS THAN THOSE WHO ATTEMPT TO FIGHT THE INSURANCE COMPANIES ALONE.

Who said I was going to fight the insurance companies?  Who said there was more than a single company?  Why would I want to “receive far more money and benefits” than I deserve?  Why “persons” instead of “people”?

And why in the world did a person change from a that to a who in one sentence?

So no, I don’t want to kill all the lawyers.  I know a couple (who are a couple) who are great, and I’m sure there are other good ones out there.  But this guy bothers me.

