We loved our cats.  We still do, even though they’re gone.  They took on some of our characteristics, and we took on some of theirs.

Here is Pouncer cat helping me pick out a new domain

One of the things we picked up from the cats was a way of expressing frustration.  Pouncer would exhale through his nose – loudly, like a long snort – when he wanted something that wasn’t happening.  We still do it now, and Bettie will call me “Frustrated Papa Cat” when I do it.  I know exactly what I have done.

I’m not the only one expressing frustration without words.  In Mark 8:11-12, Jesus communicated.

The Pharisees came and began to question Jesus. To test him, they asked him for a sign from heaven.  He sighed deeply and said, “Why does this generation ask for a miraculous sign? I tell you the truth, no sign will be given to it.

I wish I could have been there and seen (heard) that.  It would have made me smile, in a way.  But I don’t – I really, really don’t – want to be the cause of a Frustrated Jesus.

