On one hand, you have the soft, gentle dew of morning

Yes, including walking through the wonderful wetness to water some seeds that won’t get enough otherwise.

And then there’s the sharp, pointy, buzzy side of nature.

I have to figure out whether our resident yellowjackets are a good thing (bees are getting rarer, this is a new colony, and presumably would be beneficial) or a bad thing (they’re right next to the front porch, they could be aggressive, and when I was about 9 or 10, when I was trying to be helpful and open up their hole in the ground with a kitchen knife at my grandparents house in Beaver Falls, PA, they decided to express their displeasure by stinging me with great enthusiasm. I realize it’s not the same physical bees, probably, but I think that they communicate and I fear that I am a marked man.).

