I’ve heard that perfect is the enemy of good.  This is often in relationship to a diet, where trying to eat perfectly causes so much stress that you fall off your diet (into a big ice cream sundae).  Clearly not the best idea, tasty though it may be.

On the other hand, it’s too easy to settle for less than your potential.  “Sure, I could run that marathon.  But why don’t I run real fast for ten feet and assume it scales up?”.

It’s much better to aim high and fail, rather than to aim low and hit your mark.

And I have no idea what triggered this thought.  It started hours ago, possibly while I was reading Phillip Yancey’s book on prayer.  Since then I have worked some, eaten dinner, watched the President do his campaign stop on Letterman, worked some more, and gotten very tired.

So I’m going to go to bed and get a good night’s rest, and do it with excellence.

