Last July, I almost scrambled some bird eggs.  This was out back, near our cistern.

That is mulched grass you see on top of the eggs.  I came very close to mowing these over.

I mentioned it to my friend Dude, who pointed me to a neat selection of the Smithsonian’s collection, Illustrations of the Nests and Eggs of Birds of Ohio.  And I found out that most likely, they were eggs from a meadowlark.

(description here).

Now Dude is a relative of mine, something on the order of second cousin twice removed.  Or something like that.  My dad’s a closer relative to him, but still not too close.  The interesting thing is that my parents live in Sierra Vista, Arizona, which was once the training camp for the Harlem Globetrotters, who starred Meadowlark Lemon.

All this is not to be confused with Mount Lemmon, a couple hours north of my folks.

Now you see why my thoughts are scrambled??

