God has feathers.

Well, don’t look at me funny.  It’s right there in the Bible.  Psalm 91:4 says

He will cover you with His pinions,
And under His wings you may seek refuge;

Now, I don’t really know whether God has feathers, or feet, or eyes.  We are made in His image, but I think that’s more in terms of our spirit than our hair color.

That’s one of the problems you can run into when you take things from the Bible out of context.  I ran into another one the other day, from the middle of Isaiah 25:5:

You subdue the uproar of aliens

Always helpful, keeping them aliens quiet.  I used to have a sign that said “Ignore alien orders”.  I didn’t know it was Biblical.

2008 was a rough year for me, work-wise.  Somewhere around 30% overtime, supporting testers and doing testing myself.  I was very glad to read 1 Cor. 11:19, from The Message:

The best that can be said for it is that the testing process will bring truth into the open and confirm it.

That’s a true statement, but taken out of context and applied to a different situation.  Along those lines, you can make the case that God invented the internet.  When He was giving Moses the instructions for building the temple, there is this verse (Exodus 27:4):

You shall make for it a grating of network of bronze, and on the net you shall make four bronze rings at its four corners.

You see?  Network!  And “on the net”!  It’s right there!!  (I guess I could have called this blog “Four bronze rings”, so that I could tie up the four corners of the internet, but I didn’t think about it soon enough).

And then there are the out-of-context jokes:  the first car mentioned in the Bible is a Honda.  From Acts 2:1, “they were all with one accord in one place”.

But there are people who take things severely out of context, and warp them into something that God never meant.  Jim Jones, David Koresh, some televangelists.

Our sermon series at church now is The Purpose of Christmas.  Our minister keeps on iterating that God is a giver, not a taker.  God will never tell you to act against His nature.  When Abraham took Isaac out and bound him to be sacrificed, God was asking for obedience, not murder.

God is love, and we should exemplify that love.  Sometimes that love has to be tough – think about God speaking to Job from a whirlwind, and asking him over fifty questions without stopping.

Think about God sending his son Jesus to die on the cross for us, an unclean people.  And now He invites us to join Him without stopping, without insisting.

And always in context.

