I’m a baby boomer, supposedly one who lives and dies by his brands.  I know I used to be that way.  Not so much anymore.  In fact, I thought I was down to just one.

Heinz ketchup.  Yes, it’s what I grew up with.  And yes, it’s the official ketchup of NASCAR  (and the Bengals).  But it has been judged the best ketchup in the world by an international panel of expert.  I like it!

And that was it for my brands.  Until I remembered M&Ms.  There are knock-offs that I might eat in a pinch, but there’s really no comparison.

And then I thought of Windham Hill records.  And Baen books.  And Google software.  And the NASB.  And Palm software.  And Planter’s dry-roasted peanuts.  And Ben & Jerry’s ice cream.

I’m very flexible on what brand of gas I get, and where I shop for food, and which restaurant I go out to, and what jeans I buy and shoes I wear.  There’s a lot to be said for cheapness and availability.

But boy oh boy, there’s not a lot better than M&Ms alternating with Planter’s dry-roasted peanuts.  Delicately followed by a pint of Chocolate Fudge Brownie.

Puts a smile on my face, just thinking about it.

