We had another round of layoffs today.  I made it through, but lost a friend and some co-workers.  On one of the prior rounds, they let go the manager who hired me almost fourteen years ago.  I’ve been in his house, bought a computer from him, attended a special program at his church, been to a funeral together.  And then, as with my friend today, BOOM.  The rug gets pulled out from under you.

One of my first thoughts when I heard I made it through was “even if I didn’t know, I’d think that God likes me”.  Wrongo, bucko.

God loves me (and did before I was born).  He loves me no matter what happens at the place I’m currently employed, and the place after that.  He loves me whether I keep my job or not.  And he loves the other people at my company (and those soon to be “not at my company”, and those who have never heard of my company) just the same way.  Unlimited.  Boundless.  Infinite.  Without conditions.

Doesn’t mean that there won’t be good and bad days.  Doesn’t mean that there won’t be layoffs and financial struggles.  Doesn’t mean that there won’t be wet pillows tonight, and then a fresh face for the workplace tomorrow (or at church on Sunday).

And God’s love doesn’t mean that I will see all these people in heaven.  Romans 6:23 says

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

For some, the employment decision was made for them today.  But for all of us, the choice of where we spend eternity is ours, every day.  We’re not perfect, any of us, but we do choose (with the help of the Holy Spirit) what we do and say, what we think, what our reactions are.

I hope to see these people again, upstairs (and that’s not on the executive floor, either).

