I’m not following the story of Tiger Woods too closely.  The guy’s going through a lot of pain (self-induced, to be sure, that doesn’t make it hurt any less), he doesn’t need the publicity, and I don’t need the details.

I’ve been in the same place.  Well, not exactly.  But in the unfaithful-at-some-level-and-then-it-comes crashing-down, yes.  One difference is that with the help of God, ministers, psychologists, a psychiatrist, and a lot of time and effort, Bettie and I are together.  I’ve seen from headlines that Tiger and his wife are not.

Before they do get back together, he needs to get straightened out.  The guy has built a lot of defense mechanisms, and lied to himself a lot.  The false walls (and false foundation) have to crumble like his endorsement deals have.  Won’t be fun for him.

At least he’s having the opportunity to hear some truth in all this.  I saw in a news story that Brit Hume said

Tiger, turn to the Christian faith and you can make a total recovery and be a great example to the world.

Brit didn’t say it to Tiger, but during a Fox News show.  I’m sure that Tiger heard about it.  Lots of Buddhists heard it, and commented.

I think it’s ridiculous to make those statements

Well, good for you, Mr. Professor of Tibetan Studies.  You probably think Jesus was ridiculous when He said

I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

I’ll continue the playground fight and say it’s ridiculous when a professor of Buddhist Studies says

What causes you to do what Tiger Woods did is ignorance . . . You wouldn’t do that if you weren’t ignorant.

Tiger wasn’t ignorant.  He was proud.  If he was only ignorant, he wouldn’t have tried to hide it.  He knew exactly what he was doing, and thought he could get away with it.  I will finally call “ridiculous” on a Zen priest, who advised Tiger

I would first tell him to sit with the problem, look into himself and try to see clearly for himself what he needs to do.  The problem is something he’s got to work out for himself.

Umm, no.  Doing things his own way, looking inside himself for the answers – that’s what got him into this mess.  Yes, he has to do a lot of self-examination.  But the answer is outside of Tiger.

The answer is Jesus.

