No, not the bacon, lettuce, tomato, and avocado sandwich you were thinking of.  I’m talking about the British Lawn Tennis Association, the blokes who put on that Wimbledon thingie.

Q: How do you make a proper British lawn?
A: Sow good grass seed and roll for four hundred years.

I mowed our yard this week, the second time this year.  The first time was a week ago, but the grass had already grown a couple inches.  We’re still working on getting our riding mower in a workable condition, so it was push time again.  The self-propelledness helps.  But with the grass so high, the mower started clogging up after about ten feet of mowing.  After 40 or 50 feet, I had to stop to clean it out or it would make the decision for me.  Every 40 or 50 feet.  I cleaned that thing out countless times.

It’s still good, and the lawn looks great.  This week’s mowing took four and a half hours.  I’m sure it will be easier mowing more often, and using the riding mower will chop large swaths at a time.

With all my grumbles, I’m still reminded of God’s goodness.  The fast-growing grass means that the soil is good, and that we’ve had rain.  The size of the lawn is an indication of how much He has blessed us.  Having a selection of mowers is an embarrassment of riches.  And having the strength to do all that is an assumption I shouldn’t make.

Choosing to look to God in all things is a conscious thing.  It’s often too easy to focus on what’s going wrong instead of what’s going right.

Psalm 55:17 says

Morning, noon, and night I murmur and complain,
and You hear my prayer.

Thanks, God.

