I was getting gripey over something the other day, and I thought “In a perfect world, it wouldn’t be like this”.  That led to thoughts of what Steve’s Perfect World would be like.

For me personally, I wouldn’t age and I wouldn’t gain weight.  My eyes would still be razor-sharp, I would heal from cuts and bruises in a day (if not mere hours).  I wouldn’t get tired, wouldn’t take so long to recover from big efforts, and my joints wouldn’t hurt.  I don’t know if I’d have hair or not – being bald doesn’t bother me as much as getting too much sun.  Okay, I wouldn’t be able to get a sunburn.

Mosquitoes and bees would not bother me (or anyone – I’m willing to share).  My skin would be impervious to blisters while remaining soft and smooth.

On the road, I’d always have the fastest car (something I’m not willing to share), although I’d never have to prove it because everybody would drive nicely and properly.  They’d drive fast enough, too, however fast I thought that was.

Work would always be fun, with deadlines being flexible.  My pay would increase, while prices wouldn’t.

Bettie and I wouldn’t have misunderstandings or bad days, from either side.  We’d be able to communicate exactly what we wanted in a way that the other person would understand perfectly the first time (even if we’re talking from opposite ends of the house with the dryer and dishwasher running).

There wouldn’t be sickness or pain.  The church – my church – would be full to overflowing, and yet everyone would know each other, and they’d all get along.

Then I had a reality check on SPW.  What would all these people be doing in church?  They wouldn’t be worshiping God – not because they didn’t want to, but because SPW is all about Steve, and there is no room for God.  SPW is ultimate selfishness, where it’s all about Steve, all the time.  SPW does not include the possibility of brokenness, the hope of recovery (nothing to recover from!), nor room for grace.

Steve’s Perfect World is imperfect, because Steve’s in charge.  I would much rather live in God’s perfect will, smack dab in the middle of an imperfect world.  Romans 12:2 says

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

and I can’t improve on that.

