I was referred to this next news story by a link that said “Bait and Switch”.

Now that Global Warming Climate Change is not the biggest crisis on everybody’s mind, we need a new crisis.  Reminds me of Laurie Anderson’s Big Science:

You know. I think we should put some mountains here.  Otherwise, what are all the characters going to fall off of?

But maybe I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let us not forget that AGW (Anthropogenic Global Warming) is the worst crisis to hit mankind in millenia, and we must cede all control over our lives to the government, benevolent as it is.  (Ignore the fact that there’s no proof of it.  Forget the fact that the “scientists” behind it are running shady games that would get them kicked out of a travelling carnival as “unethical”.  Don’t worry about their theory doesn’t explain the past – it will be perfect in the future.  Just sign on the dotted line, give us all your money, and don’t call us, we’ll call you.  But I digress, and feelings of HealthCare are clouding my vision of Global Warming.)

Luckily, we have a new crisis to replace the old crisis.  (Never fear, the old one will return a few years down the road.  Never waste a good crisis, even if it has to be invented.  There I go again – getting ahead of myself.)  The United Nations now says “forget climate change, save the species!”  Well, the exact headline is UN says case for saving species ‘more powerful than climate change’.  To me, that’s announcing a new crisis du jour.

But why not think big?  It’s not just a new crisis, it’s a new effort that we must all support, immediately if not sooner, and it’s even bigger than the last biggest crisis ever.  The author of the UN report says

We need a sea-change in human thinking and attitudes towards nature: not as something to be vanquished, conquered, but rather something to be cherished and lived within

Now them’s fighting words, Mr. Sukhdev.  I have a directive from another authority.  Genesis 1:28-29 says this:

God blessed them; and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it; and rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Then God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the surface of all the earth, and every tree which has fruit yielding seed; it shall be food for you;”

So thanks, United Nations.  Thanks for spending my money in an attempt to control my life.  Thanks for trying to replace God with Man.  Thanks for trying to replace the Bible with a report that will be tossed away for another one within a few years.

Thanks, but no thanks.  I will stick with my God who is eternal, who wrote perfect truth in the Bible, and who knows that there is only one real crisis, the battle for the soul of each man, woman, and child.  But blue helmets won’t help out on this one.  We have the cross where Jesus died, we have the breastplate of faith and love, and as a helmet, the hope of salvation.  One leader, one report/manual/guide, one way.  And it’s all good.

