Poor little church mouse.

He had slipped into the sump pump and was just trying to get out, climbing up the cable.  And, since he was already wet and hungry, he may as well munch on whatever is close at hand.  Too bad it turned out to be the electrical cable.  At least he didn’t suffer long.

That’s not exactly what happened, but it’s close.  The sump pump downstairs at church did have electrical problems, and there was a mouse floating in the water in the sump.  But the mouse was too fresh for the amount of rust on the blown-open sump.  Correlation is not causation.

I spent Sunday afternoon helping to clean up water in the basement, along with several other people.  And I replaced the sump pump that had electrical problems.  I felt a little like a manly man (and probably needed some Irish Spring after I was done).  The new sump pump is in and working, which is good – near our house, we received about a half-inch of rain in the last two days, with more in the forecast.

I’m not trying to brag about the sump pump, or that it was done for the church.  I’m proud of it, but it’s the pride of a job well done, an action that was overdue.

I can’t ever pay back God for what He has done for me.  I can help to support the ongoing operations at one of His outposts.

