The company I work for is participating in an effort to help people exercise more and be healthier.  It’s a city-wide thing, not just corporate.  Multiple companies are getting involved, and there is a big public kickoff soon.  All well and good.

Where it falls apart is that during the public kickoff there is going to be a “flash mob”.  I put that into quotes because it’s not a real flash mob.  I know it’s bogus because the company I work for was soliciting volunteers and plans to have a practice a day earlier.

Wikipedia: The term is generally not applied to events organized by public relations firms, protests, and publicity stunts.

Part of me is offended by the takeover of a fun thing (flash mob pillowfights, for instance) to be something organized.  Part of me is mildly bothered (but not terribly surprised) that the company I work for is involved.  Part of me is bothered that the powers that be think that a youtube video of the event will encourage people to get up off their chairs and exercise (as opposed to “You think that’s good, let me show you this swordfight using pool floats!”) – in other words, having the opposite effect.

And part of me wants to make sure I get in, pick up the goodies being offered at the booths, and get out before this “spontaneous” event starts at 12:15.  I don’t want to see it, and I sure don’t want to be captured seeing it.

People might think I approve.

