Jesus was in the wilderness for forty days, fasting and praying.  How appropriate that the 40th Cool Tool Tuesday focuses on Bibles!

I am a Christian, a follower of Jesus Christ.  That influences everything I think, say, and do, even if it’s not in the foreground.  If you want to read my thoughts and experiences with God, click on God in the tag cloud to the left.  Or read through my posts – back in Cool Tool Tuesday #15 I used the books of the Bible as data while I was explaining something.

It’s not often that the God tag and the computer tag get used for the same post.  This alters that error.

The Bible is the word of God, given to man.  In Vacation Bible School, there is a pledge to the Bible, like the pledge to our country:

I pledge to the Bible God’s Holy word, and will take it as a lamp unto my feet, a light unto my path, and hide its words in my heart that I may not sin against God.

I carry a Bible around with me everywhere I go.  My Palm Pilot (okay, my Palm Tungsten E, even though it doesn’t roll off the tongue) uses Laridian software for Bible reading.  I have multiple versions on there, including the trusty King James Version (which doesn’t get a lot of use), the New American Standard, or NASB (my primary Bible), and The Message.  The last one is a paraphrase, where the guy tried to capture the flavor of the words as opposed to a translation working from the words in the original language.  Anyway, it’s useful to have this package with me, so I can look up a verse, or read whenever I want.

My next phone will be some flavor of an Android phone, and on that phone I will probably have CadreBible.  That’s a ways down the road, though, and not truly applicable to the PC.

One product that spans the gap is YouVersion.  Their YouVersion Live is for mobile phones, and the standard YouVersion is on-line.  They advertise 41 versions, but only 16 of them are in English.  I approve of and applaud mission work, but I can barely read John 3:16 in French (my next best language).  I’m not going to do any serious reading there.

Car Dieu a tant aimé le monde qu’il a donné son Fils unique, afin que quiconque croit en lui ne périsse point, mais qu’il ait la vie éternelle.

(from here).  And I can understand that quiconque is whosoever, but I sure wouldn’t have been able to translate that into the French.

YouVersion (maybe a take on YouTube?  Humph.) is very easy to understand.  The opening page lets you navigate however you want:

Their list of versions is solid

Their parallel effort does two versions, and software keeps them in sync – a pretty nifty feature.

The other site I know of (and there may be many Bible sites) is the Bible Gateway.  It doesn’t have the up-to-date-ness of YouVersion, and it’s probably trying to hit a different audience.

BG has 23 different English versions

I find I use it more for looking up verses to copy into blog entries.  If I’m looking something up, I don’t go here – I go to the Laridian version on my Palm.

Of course, the best Bible is the one that you have close at hand.  And if you’re on-line but without a personal Bible, either of these would work.

Just don’t let them sit around, gathering dust.

