And I want my job to be in Los Angeles.

Seems that LA got some one hundred and eleven million dollars through the recovery act.  And managed to create forty-five jobs.  If you’re bad at math, that comes out to almost two and a half million dollars per job.

I really like their auditor’s quote on the situation:

While it doesn’t appear that any of the ARRA funds were misspent, the City needs to do a better job expediting the process and creating jobs

Well, Ms. Auditor, two things come to mind.  First, if it takes you (collectively) over two million dollars to create a job, then by definition some of the money is misspent.  Doesn’t have to be illegal, but even making wild assumptions like a $200K salary and only 10% efficiency, there’s still money being lost.

Second, maybe the city officially known as El Pueblo de la Reina de Los Angeles should get out of the jobs business and get into the governing/service business.  Because any normal capitalistic business that is that inefficient, that wasteful, would have gone out of business long ago.   And rightly so.  Must be nice to have a monopoly . . .

One other thought: I want my money back.  In rough numbers, I contributed twentyfive cents to that terrible effort.  It’s more, I know, but I’ll settle for a quarter.  I don’t want my money being spent on something that bad.  Yeah, only two and a half cents actually made it into somebody’s pocket.  But the whole amount comes out of mine, without my approval and without my voice being heard.

Here’s my voice.  Give me my money back.

Give me my country back.

