3-2-1-LUNCH!

Things are looking up at work.  Still busy, but we did get a Christmas lunch.  My boss is in Florida, and her boss is in Florida, so there was a delegated boss to take us out.  There were six of us, the boss plus two of his people, and then three other people whose managers work in Florida.  We went to a Thai restaurant, and I had sweet and sour chicken.  Pretty good, but I’d try something different next time.

Interestingly, I noticed that I was in a minority.  Three of the people were of Chinese extraction, two were from India, and I was the token white person.  On the way over I had asked if the restaurant served hamburgers.  It was meant for us employees, but one of them repeated it to the waitress.  She didn’t miss a beat.  “Sure.  We can order you one.”

 

Run away!

I am my boss’s right-hand man when it comes to technical things.  Sometimes it’s checking something on Snopes, sometimes it’s helping her neighbor get on to her wireless access point, sometimes it’s watching as she proves a bug in an internal application.  Today it was personal assistance.  She’s selling an appliance on Craig’s List, and got an email from someone who wanted to buy it.

Date: Fri, 17 Dec 2010 03:14:09 +0800
From: BogusName@hotmail.com
To: MyBoss@hotmail.com
Subject: Re: maytag advanced cooking system gas stove – $50

Hi, I found your advertising on Craigs list and really interested in purchasing and would like to pay in cash.

I am at work right now, so I can’t contact you before I get home.

Nonetheless, I use a site that can save information so you can leave your phone number there.

Firstly i need to inform that I have met number of unusual people from C-list and been sexually harrassed and concern for my wellbeing.

So I only ask If you could verify that your safe to meet on this site http://bogus.com/xhI862Elwb , I would come to feel alot more at ease understanding that your not some pychopath.

My user is sarahlady88, look me up and message when you available. I be on most of the time.

I am a serious buyer and need this. I will certainly contact you soon after I get home to arrange a meeting.

Sarah.

I told my boss I needed to look into it, but I expected to be emailing her a reason not to continue talking to this person.  And I was right.

I found a site in China where they are getting bamboozled with the same email (the link goes to the Google cache of the page, just to avoid potential junk getting in).  I had identified it off the user name.

All in a day’s work.

