I just don’t understand.  One thing could be an anomaly, but two?

I have been intending to decrease my posting on here after the first of the year.  Writing takes up time.  On the days when I don’t have time to do a good blog entry, it shows.  Measly-peasly posts, or a joke, or a link to a site.  Acceptable, but not good.  So I am giving myself the space to breathe a little bit.

One of the things I wanted to do with this blog is show that I have the rigor to do daily posts.  The prior blogs I had, I worked my way up to about one post a year.  Not a lot of dedication or stick-to-it-iveness.  This time is much better.  In the 1280 days since my first post, I have made 1292 posts.

After three and a half years of averaging a post a day, I have made my point.  To myself, if nobody else, and in this I’m my boss.  (yeah, it gets recursive as anything, because what if I want to go over my boss’s head?)

But then, something strange starts happening.  My goal for blog views has been one an hour, 24 a day.  Hasn’t happened regularly until just recently.  I’d have good days and bad days, hot stretches and dry spells.  (single-digit hit days are frustrating.  I take this personally.)

Recently, though, the hits have taken off.

And then there’s today.  Even before this blog entry is posted, the one you’re reading right now, I somehow got 74 hits.  So far.  And it’s only 6:30.

As a writer, seeing my work recognized is fulfilling.  That number means that four people an hour, every hour today, have found a reason to visit my blog.  I hope they found it interesting or useful.  I am encouraging them to invite their friends.

Dilemma time: numbers like this make it difficult for me to quit doing daily blogs.  I want to slow down, and put some more time into other things.  But I’m also benefitting humanity (note to self: look up hubris).  The people need me.

What people, you ask?  Basic people.

Google has a new service where you can evaluate the reading level of a site.  This site evaluates as highly basic.

I don’t know what the numbers mean – Google has not published how they come up with the ratings.  I don’t disagree with them – I try to write in a way that is accessible, easy to understand.

Now I’m still left with the dual pull of wanting time to myself, and wanting to write for my basic readers, while maybe bumping up the reading level a bit.  I think there’s only one course of action for me.

Eschew obfuscation.

