WC Fields had a famous quote: It was a woman who drove me to drink, and I never had the courtesy to thank her for it.

We laugh, but there is an element of truth in there – a woman drove him to drink.  Not “introduced him to drink”, but he’s playing a blame game.  It’s not my fault!

And I can do the same thing.  Yesterday’s high volume of hits to this blog were the result of an email my boss got.  She had received a bogus email, and I researched it and blogged about it.  I included the fake name of the poster, Sarahlady88, and that was what sent my hits sky-high (I ended up with 86 hits).

So it’s not my fault, it’s my boss’s fault.  Or the fault of Sarahlady88, or the criminal behind that fake ID.

Through the years and centuries there have been men who blame things on women.  A former president tried to shift the blame onto “that woman”.  And going all the way back to Adam and Eve, he was trying to blame her.  Genesis 3:9-12a, from The Message:

God called to the Man: “Where are you?”  He said, “I heard You in the garden and I was afraid because I was naked. And I hid.” God said, “Who told you you were naked? Did you eat from that tree I told you not to eat from?” The Man said, “The Woman You gave me as a companion, she gave me fruit from the tree, and, yes, I ate it.”

But as much as we men seem to blame women, there was a time when a woman did it.

The place was Bethlehem, over two thousand years ago.  The woman was the virgin Mary.  And what she did was to give birth to Jesus Christ, savior of humanity.  Though she was engaged to the carpenter Joseph, they had not been together intimately.  Joseph was Jesus’ human father, but not his biological father.  The power of the Most High overshadowed Mary.  What does that mean, specifically?  To me, it means it was a miracle.  And that’s good enough for me.  I don’t understand electricity, why should I be able to understand a supernatural event?

As we count down the days to Christmas, please remember that with God all things are possible.  It might be an impossible work situation, a tower of bills crashing down on you, that car accident you caused while talking on your cellphone, or those unresolved emotions.  Jesus is not a magic wand to make everything perfect for you.  Don’t kid yourself.  But He does have an answer for all these situations.  It might be different for each of us, because even though Jesus is one-size-fits-all, He is not generic.  He is personal, and real, and alive.  He knows you and loves you, just the way you are.

Return the favor – get to know Him and love Him, just the way He is.  And soon you won’t be the way you were.

It will be the best Christmas present you could give yourself – or give Him.

