I live in Cincinnati (where it is supposed to reach one hundred degrees this fine September day), and Cincinnati is a one-newspaper town.  The afternoon Cincinnati Post folded at the end of 2007.

Oh, there are the local papers – Suburban Press publishes 22 different local rags, each personalized to its community.  And they are all owned by the Enquirer, which is owned by Gannett, which owns USA Today.  I understand that the last one is written for a certain demographic, and I know that the journalists and editors have to be intelligent in order to write to that level and still get their point across, but the USA Today/Cincinnati Enquirer/local press ecosystem is not my primary choice for independent news.

When I travel to a new town, I like hitting an independent restaurant.  I can visit chain restaurants in my town, but I can’t visit Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub anywhere but Clearfield, PA.  I haven’t been there yet, and I don’t know which of their gigantic burgers I’d want to try eating, but that place is a “one and only”.

Today I met another “one and only” through a different local newspaper – one that is really local.

The Clermont Sun is a publication of Clermont Sun Publishing – sounds like small potatoes, but they do publish two hundred thousand papers a month across southern Ohio.  And my quibble is not against them, or their editors, or even their journalists.

There is a weekly section that asks a “man on the street” question to people (sometimes on the street, sometimes in the post office, sometimes at the fair).  This week’s question was “Should the US do more in Libya?”.  They published a range of responses, but there was one that tripped my trigger.  And because I misread it, I got bothered for nothing.

I thought that Cheryl Taylor said “We’ve never resolved anything by fighting.”, leaving out the qualifier “there”.  I had my high horse saddled and ready to do battle.  I was going to trot out the Civil War as a time when fighting resolved something, followed in a close second by World War 2 and the attack on Pearl Harbor.  I was going to parade slavery and concentration camps.  I was going to win this battle.

Except that it’s a battle that doesn’t exist.  I don’t know enough history to know if we have or haven’t resolved issues by fighting in Libya.  I know that the Marines mention the shores of Tripoli, and I see from the Wikipedia article that we won, but I still don’t know if that “resolved” anything.

So I got bothered about a quote that didn’t exist.  Now all I can do is quote Gilda Radner’s character Emily Litella from Saturday Night Live: Never mind!

