The second surgeon recommended surgery also, which is what I expected.  So sometime not too far down the pike I will be going into the hospital for a weight loss plan, the not-quick, not-easy, and not-cheap way.

Part of my preparations involve making sure my manager and my company know about the time off and know to handle it from a timesheet/human resources perspective.  That’s why I am looking at a 16-page official document.  It covers a leave of absence for FMLA, for maternity, for military duty, for medical reasons, for personal reasons.  Each one is a type of a leave of absence, but the document covers all of them.

It shouldn’t be surprising, then, that the document is entitled Leaves of Absence Policy.

But that got me thinking about the singular case.  “Leaves” is plural.  What would a leaf of absence look like?

The most obvious thing would be that the leaf would be missing.  It wouldn’t be there.  It would be, to put not too fine a point on it, absent.

Or would it?  Would a picture of a single leaf, all alone, imply absence even more?

Or maybe the implied leaf, where the others exist but one doesn’t?

What about other attributions: the chickadee of persistence

The rainbow of hope

The spooky baobab of night

Or the most important of all, the cross of glory

pix by Valter49, Pascal B., Kathryn Rodrigues, wwwebber, homer4k, Dr Afrolicless, and peasap

