Last Tuesday was the State of the Union address.  I didn’t watch it.

When I was younger (much younger), I thought the State of the Union was a prize.  They picked one state each year, and that state got benefits.  Sort of like it being your birthday all year.  What benefits?  I don’t know – I was probably ten at the time.  But I kept hoping that New York would get it.

Unfortunately, the State of the Union is pretty bad.  Unemployment, foreclosures, and gas prices are up.  Morale and consumer confidence are down.  What to do, what to do?

The solution is not in voting for any particular candidate, nor is the answer a return to exactly what Reagan did.  The solution will come from many different places – less regulation in our lives, less government, more freedom – and more initiative from the people.  If we insist on buying the cheapest doodad, we can’t gripe that everything comes from overseas.  If we complain without acting on our beliefs, we deserve the government and economy that we get.

That being said, I do think that Republicans are in general better than Democrats at supporting smaller government and pushing the initiative down to individuals instead of pushing it up to bigger government.  And the Tea Party is better at that than the GOP establishment.

I just watched Newt Gingrich give his “We’re gonna keep on going” speech after coming in second in Florida.  Right now, I would pick Mr. Gingrich over the other Republican candidates.  He’s not perfect, and if Romney wins the nomination I will definitely vote for him instead of the current president.

Gingrich is a man of ideas.  During a debate in Florida, Gingrich rolled out his plan for a moon colony, using prizes as incentives.  Prizes are cost-free until the goal is reached, and can be applied to all sorts of things at all sorts of levels.  When Romney was asked about his thoughts on space, he came out with a mess of “I will assemble the best minds in the private sector, government, and military, and will come up with ideas, and form a plan, and . . .”.  That’s probably not a direct quote, though it captures the intent.  One candidate is clear and direct, one candidate wants to rule by committee.  If we want rule by committee, let’s keep NASA around in its current form.  It is overweight, ponderous, and unable to move ahead.  It’s possible that it can be reinvented, but it’s more likely that it will be torn down like Launch Pad 39-B.

I don’t know the future.  I don’t know who will be the Republican nominee this year, and I don’t know who will win the 2012 election. I’m not worried about the Mayan end-of-the-world prophecies. I am more concerned that God may have turned His back on the USA, after decades of us turning our collective backs on Him. So I have preferences about the political scene.  Even greater, I have convictions about the God scene.  This nation won’t last, whether that takes years, decades, or centuries. God’s kingdom is eternal, will last from everlasting to everlasting no matter who is elected president, and can never be torn down.

That’s something worth investing my life in.

