My car is still going, and is up to 228K miles.  New brakes and a new muffler put off the purchase of the Subaru for a while longer.

I almost missed a sale, though.  Apparently they (“they“) are having a clearance, and the possessive $1000’s owns something that I can save.  They left the object off.

Imagine my surprise when the sender of the email turned out not to be the local Subaru store.

The disappointment was compounded when MR. MUELLER turned out to have one of the more difficult email addresses I have seen – and on HotMail, at that!

I dragged myself away before I could find out how much I had to spend to save 60% on my heating and cooling with new windows.

Seriously, don’t these people even try to fake a good email address?  I am in the process of selecting and buying a Subaru, and my heart did a little jump when I saw the email in my spam folder.  Didn’t last more than half a second, and wouldn’t have survived checking the sender address, but the bad guys are hitting a fairly small target market.  I don’t think I was selected – I think that of the billions of pieces of spam that go out daily, some happens to find a mark.  With direct mail, a response of 2% is good – the customer is happy if two people out of a hundred contact them regarding the offer.  With spam, the costs are so low and the volume so high, that microscopic volume levels still end up getting hits.  And with 731 Subarus sold daily last year, somebody is going to be interested –  and hopefully not be bitten.

