I like computers, and I like my new job.  It’s not so new, I guess, since I have been there over five months.  I still like it.

I get to dig down deeper into applications and computer systems than I did before.  I get messy (metaphorically) working on all sorts of different things.  At times, when the solution doesn’t present itself quickly enough, you have to dig a little bit.  Go down beneath the shiny GUI, past the middleware, and get down into the guts of the thing.

If you have used the internet (you know, like maybe for reading this blog post), you have used Unix/Linux boxes along the way.  It may be directly (yes, your Android phone is running a version of Linux), indirectly (most web servers run Apache, probably on Linux), or in desperation to resolve a problem.

One of the places where Linux differs from Windows is in its use of the command line instead of Windows, Icons, Mice, and Pointers (WIMP – an acronym chosen by the Linux folks, I’m sure).  As you may have seen in the desperation link, disk drives get mounted – they aren’t just there.  Windows probably does something similar, but it is hidden in another layer you don’t usually see.

A news article reminded me of all this recently.  Iran test-fired a rocket containing a monkey, which supposedly came down safely.  The news story contains an explanation of why they showed pictures of two monkeys when there was only one in the rocket.

scratch_monkey

I have my doubts about the well-being of the monkey on the rocket.  I hope Iran learned from the failure of others and mounted a scratch monkey.

