I find myself at odds with President Obama about most things.  His apparent goals, the means of reaching those goals, his practice of religion – on almost everything, I find myself diametrically opposed.

Yet I felt great sympathy for him this past summer.  A sound bite came out wrong.  He was making a comment about how we’re all in this together, and we all depend on each other’s support, when he said

If you were successful, somebody along the line gave you some help. There was a great teacher somewhere in your life. Somebody helped to create this unbelievable American system that we have that allowed you to thrive. Somebody invested in roads and bridges. If you’ve got a business—you didn’t build that. Somebody else made that happen.

I think he meant to say “You didn’t build that by yourself“.  I don’t think I agree with where he was headed, but I felt bad over dropping a couple words and then having it played up so much.

<Note: The above is true – I am opposed to the president, and I did feel bad for him over the comment.  Now comes the spin.>

I am afraid, though, that the concept of not building your business, and (implied) not owning your business, has taken root.  I got a flyer from a local pizza joint and they aren’t selling pizzas anymore – they are leasing them.

BOGO

Sure, they say “buy”, but then they let slip that it’s only a lease.

And that’s what’s wrong with this country.

