I’m staying away from politics for a while – I find that I get bothered easily.  So here’s something from the real world that bothers me.

I’m part of a FreeCycle group.  People post to the newsgroup when they have something they don’t want anymore, rather than pitching it.  I’ve seen everything from egg cartons to projection TVs.  People can also post with wants – a family gets burned out and needs new furniture.  A kid wants a particular doodad for a school project (the last one I saw was for hearing aids).  Lots of people offer excess plants.  We have been the beneficiary of multiple things, never posted a want, and have supplied at least one person’s want.

This want was astounding.

WANTED: Laser for a 40 caliber handgun

Thu Jan 24, 2013 8:42 am (PST) . Posted by: (redacted)

Springfield 40 caliber hand gun, I read it is attached to the barrel rod? Need it for training.

Well, then.  That makes sense. This person has applied for a job somewhere and wants someone else to donate a $350 piece of hardware.  If the donor has it, they bought it on purpose – this isn’t a plant that self-propagates or an egg carton that has outlived its usefulness.

Earlier this year, when we were cleaning out our shed, we came up with a bicycle, an electric mower, and a metal cart that we didn’t want/need anymore.  We took them down to the street, taped FREE signs to each of them, and let the market work.  We were gone that Saturday, and when we got back, the items were gone.  Somebody benefited from our generosity.

But begging for a $350 specialized piece of equipment?  Naah.

Another aspect: if they need this for their job, it’s part of job start-up costs.  Count that in when you apply.  At my old job, I needed a piece of software so that everyone could upgrade their software easily.  I wrote up the business case and we purchased a worldwide license for Beyond Compare.  I switched jobs, but the software didn’t.  Last month I bought my own copy (personal) for my workplace.  I can use it, work and home, forever.  I bought it, and I plan on using it at my current job for the rest of my work life.  My employer didn’t owe it to me.  The world didn’t owe it to me.  I wanted it, and I bought it.

And I’m staying away from politics.

Note: details of the want ad are munged for privacy.

