My communion meditation for February 2, 2014.

I got a new phone a couple weeks ago.  It was everything the old phone wasn’t – small, light, fast.  It was cool.  My phone made me happy.

Over time, it became less cool.  The phone wasn’t perfect.  I still had to charge the battery, and buy a case, and put a screen protector on.  I wasn’t as happy.

Then I thought about Jeff’s sermon on worship, and the small group study on Gods at War, and turning things into idols, and I realized that I might be going down a path that I shouldn’t.  So I did what I knew I needed to do.  I built a shrine at home for my phone, with a little cell-phone throne, and a spare battery, and got my car wrapped with a sticker that says “I worship Verizon”, and I’m thinking about getting a tattoo . . .

No, that isn’t true.  Not even the tattoo part.  Yes, my old phone was a bother.  Yes, the new phone is nice.  It’s not perfect.  And I don’t worship it.

Let me quote from the book of Jonah, chapter 2, verse 8, just before God caused the fish to spit him up.  In his prayer, Jonah said

Those who cling to worthless idols
turn away from God’s love for them.

What we are here to do is to be like Jonah, to turn from idols, whether they are a phone or a car, a friend or an attitude, a bank account or a job, and turn to Jesus, who suffered and died on a cross, and was resurrected to provide for our salvation.  That is what we are celebrating now – Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection.

A cell phone can’t provide salvation to us.  Nothing other than Jesus can do that.  Nothing.

