My communion meditation on Sunday, Feb 1.

I have a confession to make.  I am a crybaby.

It’s true.  If I don’t get my way, I can get mad and sulk.  God is helping me overcome this childish trait, but one of my regular internal messages is “That’s not fair!”.

A few weeks ago I had to carry the Production Support phone for my company, for a week.  It’s not bad – there’s a guy who works into second shift to cover then, and a guy who works third shift so I can sleep.  Except the second shift guy worked only two days, and the third shift guy was on vacation the whole time.  “That’s not fair!”

A week or so ago, in our small group here at the church on Thursday nights, we were talking about how God had a problem.  He created us and loves us, and wants to be gracious to us.  But we are sinners, and God hates sin.  His sense of justice demands that the penalty for sin be paid.  The solution, as you know, was to have Jesus come to earth, live a perfect and sinless life, and to die on the cross.  Randy said “God in effect treated Christ as if He were a sinner so that He can now treat real sinners as if they were righteous saints.”  And I thought to myself – “That’s not fair!”.

The injustice, in this case, is real and not imagined.  Jesus did nothing to deserve to die – I did, and you did.  And yet it was Jesus on the cross, not you, not me.  Romans 5:8 says “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  It isn’t fair – it is sacrificial love.  And that is what we are celebrating with communion.  Let’s pray.

Heavenly Father, you love us.  It’s not fair – we don’t deserve it.  And yet it is ours if we accept it.  Thank you for making it available, at a great cost.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

