Solid state drives (SSDs) are a blessing and a curse.  So fast – so quick – so quickly filled.

Though it’s getting better, SSDs used to be microscopically tiny.  Compared to spinning rust hard drives, these things were gnats.  You can buy a desktop hard drive, size 8T, for $260 delivered.  I remember when used hard drives – used, as in been through the wringer and then taken out when something else died – cost a dollar a megabyte.  That would make the cost of this drive – if it had existed back then – $8,000,000.00.  Eight million bucks.

Of course, I have copies of PC Magazine where you can buy 10M hard drives (to turn your PC into an XT!!).  But that’s not where this ramble is going.

If I remember right, I started talking about the relative difference in drive sizes, hard drives vs. SSDs.  Those SSDs are coming down in price, just like spinning hard drives did.  Mine was purchased to maximize space at a price point – I had a dollar limit, and was able to get 128G of silicon goodness.

It filled up this week.

As Dave Ramsey says, Christmas is not an emergency.  I could have seen this coming from a long ways back.  I didn’t look – bad on me.

I deleted some big downloads, looked for and deleted some big files (using the Everything tool, looking for *, sorted by size).  Still not enough.  Look around at some tools, and found PatchCleaner.

As the PatchCleaner site says, Microsoft can leave gigabytes of unused junk in hidden folder c:\Windows\Installer.  PatchCleaner will see what is safe to remove and offers you the option to move it somewhere else (to the spinning disk where you keep your pictures and music, perhaps?) or to delete them altogether.  I used it, deleted the orphaned files it found, and was able to free up X gigabytes of SSD space.  X is unknown (or rather, unremembered).  Probably 10G to 15G.  I had deleted some other things manually, and have 20G open, when I was down to single-digit megabytes before-hand.

Recommended.  Download it, run it, and decide whether you want to copy off what it finds, or delete the extra, unused junk.  Either way, you will probably have acres more of sweet silicon emptiness, waiting on your cat videos.

