No, this is not some strange yoga position.  Nor is it about calling the Republicans to be more vocal (though there are some RINOs that are plenty loud).

I use a CPAP machine to help maintain my breathing through sleep apnea.  I have been doing it for 1001 days, according to the cool SleepyHead software by which I monitor myself at much closer intervals than the office’s six-month checkups.

CPAP machines have a hose by which they deliver air to your face.  The hose is a little bigger around than a Hula Hoop’s tube, and much more flexible. It is also connected at both ends, since they haven’t figured out how to deliver air wirelessly.  Yet.

I used to have the hose running down past my chin, tucked under me as I slept, and that worked fairly well. hose down  Not perfectly, mind you – I would wake up several times a night because the hose had shifted, or the weight was pulling it away from my face.

I didn’t want to get a hose stand – I don’t want more clutter. hose stand

What I came up with, after reading about other technologies, was to turn the world upside down.  Make the hose go up, almost like a snorkel tube. hose up I tuck it between the headboard and mattress.  It stays out of my way, and I sleep better.

 

 

 

So I grant to the world the name “Trumpeting Elephant” as a great description of an existing method.  Long may it roar!

trumpeting elephant

 

